Last Month in Copenhagen

I think I went through three phases while studying abroad. In the beginning, I did a lot of tourist activities in Copenhagen and tested the waters. Then in the middle, I traveled Europe, expanded my horizons, and pushed my comfort zones. For the last part, I enjoyed living my life in Copenhagen to the fullest as an insider, not an outsider.

People studying abroad often forget how much culture there is in Copenhagen and how many things there are to do. And the best part? I spent tens of dollars doing fun activities in Copenhagen instead of spending hundreds of dollars visiting another city!

Just a couple of days ago–on December 15th, I jumped in the canal one last time. I’m considering it my baptism to transform into a true Dane. Honestly, it was freezing, I don’t really recommend it. But I just had such a strong urge and need to do it. It was kind of like a calling. So, I just went on my own and jumped in, with no hesitation. It felt like a culmination of studying abroad: a freeing moment, a reset, a shock, a risk, and a reward all wrapped into one.

Here are some of the things I enjoyed doing in Copenhagen as a self-proclaimed Dane for the past month:

Climbed Copenhill.

Took a ferry as a form of public transportation to get home. I wanted to go see Amalienborg castle because I’d never seen it before and then I spontaneously took a ferry back home. And there were BLUE SKIES!

Actually enjoyed some restaurants. I’m cheap and going out to eat is one of the most expensive things you can do in Copenhagen. Shoutout to multiple free meals from my core course professor at Amaans for smorrebrod and schnaps and the DIS media team for treating us at Host for our work during the semester. I also went to Popl (burgers by a Noma chef), Pico (pizza), and Warpigs (BBQ)–all of which I highly recommend.

Went to all 3 Christmas Markets on Thanksgiving Day lol. Lots of hygge and glogg and adorable Christmas festivities: ornaments, hot dogs, desserts, and local crafts.

Day trip to Malmo. Just a fun day consisting of girls studying abroad in Denmark wearing Norweigan sweaters in Sweden.

Visited some giants. Made some new friends and spread some love with hugs. That’s all.

Walked around Christiania. Very cool atmosphere and artwork!

Visited the NY Glyptotek on a rainy day (and Tuesday cause it’s free). The odds for grey weather on a Tuesday is pretty high cause it’s always grey and Tuesdays happen every week!

Met some cows and got ice cream. It’s not really Danish (I don’t think) but I REALLY like cows.

Hosted a friend in Copenhagen. Rene and I participated in an exchange program together three years ago. Rene and his classmates came and visited my school in Buffalo for three weeks and later that year, my classmates and I visited Rene’s school in Bolzano, Italy for three weeks. While I was in Europe we decided to do another exchange of our own–I visited him in Milan then he brought two other friends and visited me in Copenhagen! It was so much fun sharing the city with other people.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started